The great summer fail…

As per usual for us Brits, summer snuck up on us like a kid with cold hands; not exactly unpleasant but definitely a shock. And once more, I was caught completely off guard with nothing to wear.

This is entirely my fault of course, as in a fit of excitement over winter I threw out the cropped jeans I had bought in previous years as they were several sizes too big. At least one pair, however, was on the small side of its size and still fit well. I was too ‘in the moment’ to think about this at the time however, and out they went.

A few weeks ago I did think ahead for my summer jollies and purchased a maxi dress or two, one online which I’m sending back, and one which, whilst lovely, is black and strapless and probably inappropriate for work. I had thought I’d wait until payday to get properly stuck in but put a few cheeky bids in on eBay for some more (cheap) cropped jeans. Unfortunately, unlike my last eBay cropped jean escapade, I was outbid in moments and they all appear to have accrued quite a high price tag since.

Then the heat struck. I couldn’t cope with the elevated temperature in my jeans and black trousers and I snapped (at poor husband) “take me shopping after work, I’m proper mafted in these” (this roughly translates as “please would you drive me to our local shopping centre darling, I’m rather hot in this attire”).

Like a bat out of hell I dived in and came home with some shorts (purely for the holiday I promise, I will not be out in public locally in those) and a few pairs of cropped jeans.

I started planning this post yesterday and thought I’d put up a few pictures of my lovely new outfits, maybe an OOTD, however, this morning we’ve awoken to grey clouds. The Met Office tells me it’s going to be rather chilly until tea time when temps should pick up, but then there’s a 60% chance it’ll piss it down by bed time. How rude. It’s also looking rather grim for the rest of the week.

Here’s to hoping it’ll pick up in time for the bank holiday!

P.S. You’ll be glad to hear my Satchel is recovering nicely!

2 thoughts on “The great summer fail…

  1. I hope you weren’t too mafted today. I went out in summer dress and cardi and had to strip off my top layer. In public!!

    The forecast rain and storms are, allegedly, the pre-cursor to a heatwave lasting until the end of September.

    • I had to put the heater on, it’s always chilly in that room! I had been looking forward to the heat so that I might actually be warm for once! Eeeee in public?! How rude! You must have been mafted!

      That’s good to know, I can cope with that! I don’t mind a storm during summer when it clears the air and then goes back to nice and sunny.

Leave a Reply

