1 year old and Satchel disaster!

FGSJ turned one this week, happy birthday/anniversary/blog-a-versary maybe? I’m not sure the technical term, but either way it’s a mile stone. As we head towards spring/summer once more, I’m hoping to dedicate some more time towards this blog once more!

I decided to treat myself to some fabulous Marvel Vans trainers this week as a pre-birthday treat, (this is becoming an annual pre-birthday trip to Schuh…) and instead walked away with my first ever pair of Converse Chuck Taylors! They’re burgundy and beautiful and I cannot wait to wear them out and about once the weather picks up!

As happy an occasion as this is, unfortunately disaster has struck…my regularly used bags live in a corner in the living room for easy access. I went there to fetch my trusty satchel, which has been there for roughly a week. Probably the longest it’s ever been out of use since its purchase. as I picked it up, a few drops of water rolled off. I was taken aback, unsure of where it had come from, when I noticed the smell of soaked leather…the water had literally drenched half of my bag to the point where there were white crystals forming on the inside!!! It would appear our new radiator has been leaking. Following care advice on the website, I’ve wiped it down with a slightly damp cloth soaked in mild soapy water ( just the crystallized parts) and dried off the worst with a towel. It suggests I leave it to dry naturally followed by some leather care product.

Any advice or product recommendations?

One thought on “1 year old and Satchel disaster!

  1. Oh no, what a disaster!! I would try either a neutral proper shoe polish (you know the kind that comes in a tin?) or a similar leather care product, a proper shoe shop like Clark’s will sell them. You could even try Radley care stuff from House of Fraser, although Radley use a softer, more pliable leather than your satchel so I don’t know how it would work.

Leave a Reply

