Starting Off: Foundation

Week 3 Already! Crikey! I have a confession to make; I don’t really wear foundation…HAHAHA, your faces! Just kidding, of course I do!

Foundation is basically the base to all your other makeup; it is used for evening out skin tone, general coverage of blemishes and give your face a nice healthy glow/look. There are a few different types, so we’ll just look at them briefly before going over application and recommendations etc.

  • Liquid
  • Cream
  • Powder
  • Mousse
  • Tinted Moisturiser/BB cream.

The type you use will depend on your skin type. I  remember being told when I was younger, that no one under 25 should wear liquid foundation…well I can tell you now, that’s the only kind I’ve ever been able to match correctly to my skin tone, so there! I think this is mainly because you’re prone to oily skin/acne, and full on foundation can clog pores and make this worse. However, if you need to cover those spots, there’s nothing better. Powder is better for oily skin types, but using some oil absorbing sheets and a bit of powder on top of other types of foundation will help with that.

Tinted moisturiser is good for all skin types, it is perfect if you want to even out skin tone but can’t be pestered with a full face of make up. I am a fan of this!

Applying your foundation:

First of all, look back at weeks 1 & 2, you’ll want to have a nice freshly cleansed face and pop on some moisturiser. Everyone seems to have a different take on the length of time you should leave between moisturising and applying foundation, some say 5 minutes other say 15. Personally I prefer 15-20 if I have the time. This does also depend on the type of foundation you use. Once this is done and any under eye concealing has gone on, you’re ready to get going!

Application techniques:

So using your preferred tool, whether that be a brush, a sponge or your fingers, use a small amount and blend outwards towards your hair line and neck. I tend to dot a small amount on my forehead and cheeks, then blend using a damp sponge ’til there is even coverage and no blotchy patches on my face.

It is no secret that I am rather lazy when it comes to makeup and beauty; I like to cut corners where I can, and using foundation is no exception. My favourite item is tinted moisturiser. But, as it’s me and no post of mine would be complete without it, I like to (sort of) make my own using Lush!

foundation1 (1) 

My foundation of choice is Lush’s Jackie Oates colour supplement. If I want complete coverage, I use it after moisturising, blending with a damp sponge and it gives a lovely flawless finish – in that it covers all my summer induced freckles and any red patches/blemishes I may have. Most days, though, I just want a light finish to even out my skin tone from red patches I get on my cheeks. So on those days, I mix a small amount with my moisturiser, using the back of my hand as a palette, and blend it either using my fingers or a damp sponge. I normally just use my fingers. I love how light it is, and is made using all natural products, which is perfect for my crazy skin.

On those special occasions though, I use (as mentioned in my last post for concealer) Estee Lauder Double Wear. I purchased the foundation and concealer in the lightest possible shade for my wedding last year. I believe this cost me £28, and is long lasting, so it’s not something you’ll want to wear everyday (to avoid clogging your pores), but more for those occasions where you want to stay photo ready, for example a wedding. This goes on pretty much like every other foundation, however it does dry quickly to fix itself in place, so it’s best to keep your moisturiser on hand, and use a little bit to manipulate any bits of foundation which have dried blotchy and need blending.

Generally speaking, I find both of these fine on their own, but when necessary (or predominantly around the t-zone at least) I use a bit of Lush’s Emotional Brilliance powder on top.

So there you have it, a brief look at my foundation usage,

Next week: Bronzer. I will not be posting next week as I never have and sincerely doubt I ever will use bronzer, but I’m still looking forward to reading through everyone else’s posts. Please follow #theSOproject on Twitter to find the plethora of amazing posts from my fellow SO project bloggers!

7 thoughts on “Starting Off: Foundation

    • I may even do just that! I always endeavour to try something new every time I pop in. I do love your products, especially Jackie Oates, Angels on Bare Skin, Catastrophe Cosmetic and anything for the bath that’s pink!

Leave a Reply

