Starting Off: Concealer

concealer2

If you hadn’t guessed already, I am bit lazy when it comes to beauty. I think this is what makes me a bit different in the starting off project; I don’t do anything complicated, I like being able to things as quickly and effectively as possible. I often like to go barefaced because of this; if my skin looks good, I’d rather not cover it up. However, there do come days when the odd blemish or the demon pimple appear and even I am vain enough to cover it up.

This week we’re looking at concealer.

TEENAGERS: After a good skincare routine, concealer is your BEST friend and secret weapon! 

What is it? Well it’s used to cover up any spots, blemishes and general imperfections on your face, including those horrid black circles under your eyes. Those of you who are younger teenagers probably won’t have this problem, though those of you who wear glasses might find that they do.

I’m relatively new myself at covering up under the eyes, (I generally just try to hide them with my glasses) so the main focus of my concealer post will look at mainly covering up blemishes and the dreaded Vesuvian-esque spot, but there will be a bit on under eyes later on.

I started wearing concealer in school, well before I started wearing makeup/foundation etc. I tended to use it when I had a massive eruption somewhere roughly the size of Lady Gaga’s hair, and only really in a dire emergency. I became a regular user when I was in college and contracted Impetigo after a college holiday to London (I’m convinced I was in fact allergic to London). Not knowing what on earth had overtaken my face, I was (with good reason) far too self conscious to leave the house and attend a friend’s birthday party till my mother kindly went and bought me some more concealer with which to cover it. By the next morning however, the rash had gone from being a few obvious but small red patches to have taken over the lower part of my face and took some considerable effort to cover up. However, for the first time in years I did notice my skin looked much better than it ever had when I hadn’t contracted a highly contagious face disease.

So, first things first, covering up a blemish. This is so much easier shown via video than described, so sorry if you’re not keen on watching videos, but this was the best video I came across and is much more detailed than I could ever describe:

This is pretty much the technique I use to do this, though I must admit before watching this I always used a finger or the applicator that came with it; I’ve never had the inclination to buy a special concealer brush (okay, okay shock horror of FGSJ does #theSOproject part 3: I only own 2 make up brushes, one for foundation and one for blusher. I’m sorry, I promise to fix this later in the project when we all start recommending make up tools) and hadn’t thought of trying to use a cotton bud, they really are genius!!

Technique aside, the main things to take from this video are:

  • Don’t use the same concealer for under your eyes as for blemishes. You want something lighter for lightening and brightening under your eyes, and you want a concealer as close to your own skin tone as possible for covering blemishes to make it look as natural as possible.
  • Foundation first or second? It’s up to you which way round you do concealer for covering blemishes. I prefer to do it afterwards, but do any under eye coverage before foundation.
  • Remember to use powder on top to avoid creasing.

My favourite choice of concealer, which I’ve used for years is without a doubt is this from Rimmel:

rimmelconcealer2

It is apparently the UK’s most popular choice of concealer, I don’t know if this is true but it certainly does a good job and only costs £3.99. However, I’ve recently opted for a cheaper choice by Collection, as it was, well, cheaper costing only £1.99 and seemed to match my skin tone a slight bit better, I have yet to try it out though. Last year I also pushed the boat out and purchased myself some Estee Lauder Double Wear liquid concealer to go with my Double Wear Foundation for my wedding day, and this currently is my favourite go to product on a really bad day; when I don’t want to wear a full face of make up and would rather go bare faced or go ‘nudey faced’ as I like to call it. It doesn’t budge at all, feels really light, doesn’t crease and gives good coverage. It is however, mega expensive at £21.

I set my concealer in place with Lush’s Emotional Brilliance (big shout out and massive thank you to Pixie Anna for collecting this for me as I had completely run out!).

For those rare occasions that I do in fact use concealer under my eyes, I use my Lush Jackie Oates colour supplement (which I also use occasionally as foundation/make tinted moisturiser) and once again, set it using Emotional Brilliance. Now this isn’t something I’m great at, so again, I’ll let the video do the talking:

I tend to use the damp sponge technique though until I watched this I didn’t dampen the sponge, (yes I learnt something new AND whilst I may not own many brushes, I do love a good sponge, so there!)

So there  you have it, my imparted wisdom on concealer. Surprisingly still a relatively long post for a short subject; it’s amazing how much there is to say about one tiny product.

Next week: Foundation.

15 thoughts on “Starting Off: Concealer

    • I think it is a bit like Marmite, everyone I know either loves it or hates it, there seems to be no middle ground, think i’m just one of the lucky ones (for a change, haha) xx

    • I can thoroughly recommend it! My friend Anna who collected this for me has said she wants to try it too. I was lucky enough to be invited to the VIP event when they started selling their new range of makeup and have been in love since! Thanks for stopping by!

      xx

    • Thank you!! I thoroughly recommend checking them out, they’re not for everyone but certainly worth a look. They do great quality products that are hand made and use all natural products

Leave a Reply

