Oh Cambridge Satchel Company, how I loathe thee…

I am the kind of person who thinks getting back with an ex is like putting on your dirty under crackers after a shower, which is why it will come as a shock to you all (probably not)  that I caved and briefly got back together with the Cambridge Satchel Company and purchased a bag…

P1020814  P1020816 P1020818

This lovely 14” purple classic satchel comes courtesy of my fabulous husband, and is my new best friend. Now the customer service was brill, the girls in store knew their product and were happy to let you fondle the bags and try them on in front of the mirror. However…

I was highly disappointed when they said for 8 letters or more embossing, they would need to get ‘a quote’ and not the new and higher £28 cap. I was told it would be £35, but the overall price she quoted was way higher. I realised afterwards that was actually too high and a lot more than the extra £7. So £35 from the original max of £20 from a few weeks ago –yeah right! I still fail to see how it is suddenly worth that much extra.  I told them I would just leave the bag, as regardless of the letter count it is still only £28 online and attempted to walk out, but the manager kindly waved the extra and said, “it’s only £7” to which I pointed out “I don’t earn much money, to me £7 is a lot” I however was cut off before I managed to point out £7 on top of their recent increases was sheer greed! They said it was because it takes a lot of their time, but as the shop was incredibly quiet, they were hardly rushed off their feet with purchases of satchels and orders of embossing.

And then, just to add insult to injury, they are having their ‘end of season’ sale as of today! Why mid week?! That’s a tad bizarre and horrible to behold, knowing EXACTLY how much my bag ended up costing.

I love my bag, despite the fact it’s very heavy, and hard to fit things into as the leather needs time to soften and stretch. It smells amazing and feels like it will last a long, long time but I doubt I’ll be buying another unless it is in the clearance. So many people have ‘bigged up’ the company, raved about their amazing customer service and how the price is amazing in comparison to their quality, but I just feel highly disappointed. I really do love my bag and will be using it for my work bag (its bigger than the little one I wanted for just nipping out with, so a bit too heavy for running to the shops etc) job interviews and for travel, I just feel very disappointed and somewhat heartbroken with a company who I have championed for what feels like a long time.

So thus proving that is ALWAYS a bad idea to get back together with an ex, even if they do make very lovely bags…*sigh*

6 thoughts on “Oh Cambridge Satchel Company, how I loathe thee…

  1. You can definitely see your expertise in the work you write.
    The sector hopes for more passionate writers like you
    who are not afraid to mention how they believe.
    At all times go after your heart.

  2. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme.
    Did you create this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?
    Plz reply as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. thank you

    • Hi!
      Thank you very much 🙂 I did this myself using the free themes on WordPress, then made some of the graphics myself but mostly by my husband. We used free imaging software available on the internet and was pretty simple and straight forward to do.

  3. Hi Claire please could you possibly tell me where you got the full name embossed on the purple satchel? I’ve just bought a BNWT red 11″ Cambridge Satchel from eBay and am wishing to get my name “L.D-Browne” embossed in gold. But even for my initials L.D-B they quoted me £27! Yes I saved a fortune buying the bag off eBay but still think this is a lot of money! Thanks in advance! Love your page by the way. x

    • Hi Lottie, I completely agree, that is extremely expensive! It sounds like they’ve been upping their prices again! I paid to have mine done in store when I bought the satchel but only after we haggled over the price. I have read on other blogs that some people have been to local cobblers and leather stores and have had theirs embossed at a more reasonable cost that way. It might be worth looking at yell.com and ringing ’round a few places. Local places are often more reasonable than chains and do a better job as well. I feel your pain though, I often find myself tearing my hair out looking for things like that via Google and not getting any straight answers! Thank you very much, hoping to keep it a bit more up to date these days and sorry I couldn’t be more help!

      Claire x

Leave a Reply

